Summer on the deck – Strawberry Honey Sorbet

I love strawberries.  When I think of summer, I always get excited at the different ways I can incorporate this amazing fruit into my menus.  The summer is when they taste best; sweet, juicy, and just a little tart.  The summer is the season when I try to make more fruit-centric desserts – it just makes sense to me.  An obvious summer treat: sorbet.

The beauty behind sorbet is its simplicity.  A little fruit, a little sweetener, some time in the freezer, and before you know it, you have a cold dessert for those hot summer nights spent on the deck with friends.

I got married last weekend (joy!) and in the days following, hadn’t really felt much like cooking.  We spent the first few nights grazing on the wonderful food leftover by the caterers, and I finally got the urge and made an asparagus soup (see previous post).  Next urge was dessert, naturally.

We invited our lovely friends, Sarah and Matthew over last night for drinks on the deck as well as something we like to call “snacks as dinner.”  I picked up a selection of meats and cheeses, as well as marinated tomatoes, artichokes and red peppers, and cornichons.  And for dessert, a fresh strawberry and honey sorbet!  Too perfect!

It really was a perfect way to spend a Thursday night.  We chatted about their travels to China, our wedding weekend, and my recent trip to Norway.  I was concerned that there wouldn’t be enough to eat, but I was wrong!  At least I’ll be able to make a nice airplane snack for Scott and I when we leave for San Francisco tomorrow!

Strawberry-Honey Sorbet
Adapted from thekitchn

**Makes about 1 quart

2 pounds strawberries, hulled and quartered
1/2 cup honey
2 tablespoons vodka
juice from 1 lemon

Puree the strawberries in a blender or food processor until smooth.  Press through a fine mesh strainer to remove most of the seeds.  Whisk in the honey, vodka, and the lemon juice.  Taste for sweetness and add more honey if necessary.

Cover and place in refrigerator and chill completely.  When thoroughly chilled, place in ice cream maker and freeze according to directions.  Remove from ice cream maker into an airtight container, and place in freezer to allow it to firm up.

If you don’t have an ice cream maker, it’s okay.  After whisking in the honey, vodka, and lemon juice, place in freezer-safe bowl or container, cover, and set it in the freezer.  Allow it to set up, stirring once or twice.  Allow it to completely firm up over several hours before spooning into dishes.

Leave a Reply

