Most of the Time

“Most of the time…I can handle whatever I stumble upon.”

This song by Bob Dylan came on my iTunes this morning as I was drinking my coffee, alone, in my living room.  I know it’s about a breakup, but that one line really hit home with me. Usually, I can handle whatever comes my way; I can juggle several tasks with ease.  But lately, I’ve been feeling like I’m juggling entirely too many sharp objects.  I just can’t manage to find my rhythm.  Forgive me.

I’ve felt a distinct sense of guilt lately for not posting much on this blog.  The fall semester crept up on me when I wasn’t looking and I fell into reading two novels within the first month of classes.  I have been cooking and musing, believe me.  I have.  And I’ve been taking photos, as well.  I just haven’t placed any of it on the blog.  Here goes, in short form:

I made “shelf” dill pickles, in which I filled the jars with cucumbers, various herbs and spices, and topped them off with the vinegar/water/salt/sugar solution.  At that point, I kept them open (covered with cheese cloth) on the shelf of our pantry for 4 days.  Now, they’re sealed up and in the fridge.

Then I tackled something I like to call a banana bread cake.  It tasted exactly like banana bread and it was outstanding.  AND it was a layer cake!  AND it had sauteed bananas and butterscotch caramel in it!!  Right?!?!?

 

And finally…I finished up my Worcestershire Sauce.  Yes, you read that right.  I made my very own Worcestershire Sauce!  It was quite the experience: procuring all the necessary ingredients, boiling them all together, and then letting it “ripen” in my fridge for 4 weeks.  Weird.  Delicious.  Amazing.


I promise, most of the time I can handle whatever I stumble upon.  Stick with me.  You’ll see.

 

 

 

5 Comments on “Most of the Time”

  1. Love that (this, as I’m listening to it now) song, and contented to see your pretty little kitchen is still abuzz. Happy fall Sara!

  2. Matthew Hansen says:

    High Fidelity flashback!

  3. azita says:

    Just found your blog & it’s love at first read!


Leave a Reply

