Orange “Creamsicle” Ice Cream

IMG_1937

It’s winter here in the midwest.  The sun may be shining, but it is by no means warm outside.  This is the weather of sledding, hot cocoa, fireplaces, and heavy blankets.  Certainly not the weather of ice cream, right?  Normally, I’d agree with you, but in this case, you’d be wrong.

Perhaps it was the sunny sky that fooled me, or perhaps I just wanted to bring a little summer to these winter days.  Either way, I decided I wanted to make a creamy citrus ice cream.

For whatever reason, I recalled eating orange creamsicle popsicles when I was a child.  Based on that sense memory, I looked around our kitchen and guess what?  I had all the ingredients necessary to recreate that popsicle in ice cream form! I had heavy cream, whole milk, buttermilk, eggs, and best of all, a bowl full of oranges.

Now, I know I’m not the first person to make this ice cream, and I’m okay with it.  Nevertheless, this is simple to put together and after one bite, I was immediately transported to a sunny summer day from my childhood.  What really puts this ice cream over the edge is the addition of orange flower water to the custard.  My husband was on a Ramos Gin Fizz kick for a while, and oddly enough, we had a bottle of orange flower water in the fridge.

You don’t have to go out and buy it if you don’t want to.  It’s relatively easy to find, though, if you so choose.  Many international markets have it, as well as many grocery stores.

IMG_1931

Orange “Creamsicle” Ice Cream

1 cup heavy cream
1 cup whole milk
1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
7 egg yolks
2 cups buttermilk
zest from two oranges
juice from one orange
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
pinch of kosher salt
2 tablespoons orange flower water

Pour buttermilk into large bowl and set aside.

In a large, heavy saucepan, combine heavy cream, whole milk, and one cup of sugar and bring to a simmer over medium heat.

In a large bowl, whisk the egg yolks and 1/4 granulated sugar.

Remove cream mixture from heat and drizzle a small amount into the egg yolks, whisking all the while to keep eggs from scrambling.  Do this a couple of more time to warm the egg mixture up.  Then pour the egg mixture back into the cream, whisking constantly.  Add orange zest and orange juice and stir to combine.

Cook cream and egg mixture on low heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a wooden spoon.

Pour mixture into buttermilk and whisk in the vanilla extract, salt, and orange flower water.  Taste mixture and add more orange flower water if desired.

Cool completely in refrigerator and then freeze in ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s directions.

Leave a Reply

