Hog #50 (Pork Chili)

Going to the market is one of my favorite things.  But so is not going to the market.

I love looking in the fridge and pantry at dinner time and realizing that I have everything I need to make a dish.  Especially after the day I had yesterday.

6:45 a.m. came way too early yesterday and almost everything that happened after the alarm went off wasn’t ideal.  Do you ever have those days when you feel like you’re just one step behind?  Or those days that you should just spend in bed with a good book and a cuddly pet?  Well, that was yesterday.  All.  Day.

The Halloween costumes we ordered were too small.  Like, waaay too small.

I opened our front door on my forehead so hard I saw stars.  Now it’s swollen and starting to bruise.

The cake I baked fell in the middle.  It went in the trash.  Ugh.

Fraudulent charges were made on my credit card.

That was my day.  Luckily, dinner was the easy part.  As you all know, over the summer I bought a quarter of a hog (#50) with my friend Sarah.  Slowly but surely, we’re eating our way through all the porky goodness.

We had one package of ground pork left, and chili was just what the doctor ordered after the day I had.  Chili is one of those dishes when a recipe isn’t really necessary.  You just add what you like or what you have on hand and voila!  Chili!

I went for ground pork, red onions, garlic, vinegar, tomato paste, diced tomatoes, black beans, cilantro, and my favorite spices.  But really, the beauty of chili is that it’s flexible.

So, take a peek in your fridge, freezer, and pantry.  Here in Nebraska it’s cold and wet outside.  Weather like this demands chili.  Throw it all in a pot, let it simmer away, eat it and forget about your bad day.

Leave a Reply

