On Goats, Halibut, and Creamed Cabbage with Bacon

Around noon yesterday, my husband and I met our friend Ryan at one of our favorite bars near our home, Krug Park.  Sundays are the perfect day to sit down for a Bloody Mary, and Anne knows how to make a good one.  We met there not just for the great drinks and good conversation…we met there to talk about goats.  More specifically, Nigerian Dwarf Goats.

See, our friend Ryan is a lot like me in that he has a passion for food and cooking.  Unlike me, he is a chef here in town.  But he takes his love for food one step further and as a result, deserves the label of urban farmer.  He and his wife raise chickens, ducks, and they have quite the green thumb when it comes to their garden.  But that wasn’t enough for Ryan.  He wanted to add some goats to the mix.  I volunteered my goat-sitting services immediately.

I’ll keep you posted on the progress of our communal goat adventures.  Right now, we’re just in the planning stages.  I can’t even tell you how excited I am to experiment with the milk from our little goats.  I’m thinking cheese.  Lots and lots of cheese.  At least to start with.  Then, who knows what?  All I know is I’m excited to be a part of Ryan’s endeavors.

Now, on to dinner.

IMG_1952

I love cookbooks.  I’m the type of person who will bring a cookbook to bed in lieu of a novel to read before going to sleep.  I have stacks of cookbooks.  However, I feel like I’ve been ignoring them lately and relying on interesting recipes I find online.  Looking online is a great resource for ideas, but there is something so nice about flipping through the pages of a cookbook on a rainy day (like yesterday) and landing on something that looks delicious.  That’s just what happened to me when I opened my copy of Gordon Ramsay’s Fast Food.  

Say what you want about Gordon Ramsay, but I like him.  Yes, his TV personality is out of control, but that’s what makes for good ratings.  The recipes in this book come from one of his British cooking shows (and restaurant of the same name) called The F-Word.  Yes, his language might be controversial, but this particular show is pretty tame compared to what we see in America.  And the recipes are just plain good.

As per usual, I made some substitutions with the recipe, and although I feel it could have used a little something extra, overall, it was pretty delicious.  This one is a keeper and I’ll do my best to improve upon it in the future.

IMG_1954

Halibut with Creamed Cabbage and Bacon
Adapted from Gordon Ramsay’s Fast Food

Ingredients:
Serves 2 (with leftover creamed cabbage)

4 tablespoons olive oil
6 slices of bacon (preferably lean), chopped
1 large carrot, peeled and diced
1/2 celery root, peeled and diced
1 small napa cabbage, cored and thinly sliced (can use savoy or green cabbage)
3/4 cup whipping cream
kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper
2 halibut filets, about 5-6 ounces each, skin on
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
juice of 1/2 lemon
1/4 cup (medium handful) fresh Italian parsley, finely chopped

Method:

Heat half of the olive oil in a large pan.  Add the chopped bacon and cook for a few minutes, then stir in the carrot and celery root.  Cover the pan with tight-fitting lid and cook for 8 to 10 minutes over medium heat until celery root is translucent.

Add the shredded cabbage and cook for 3 to 4 minutes, then pour in the cream.  Simmer for a few minutes until the cream has thickened and the cabbage is tender.  Season well with kosher salt and black pepper and keep warm on low heat.

Meanwhile, heat a sauté pan and add the remaining olive oil.  Season the fish well with kosher salt and black pepper.  When the pan is good and hot, add the fish, skin side up, and pan-fry for 1 1/2 – 2 minutes until golden brown. (Depending on the heat level and type of pan, this may take a little longer.  Be patient.)

Carefully flip the fish over and add the butter to the pan.  Squeeze over the lemon juice and let bubble gently for 1-2 minutes.  Toss in the parsley and spoon the herby butter over the fish.  Take off the heat.

Spoon the creamed cabbage into the middle of two warmed plates and top with the halibut filets.  Spoon any remaining pan juices over fish and serve.

3 Comments on “On Goats, Halibut, and Creamed Cabbage with Bacon”

  1. I can’t tell you how excited I am for the goats! Also, your halibut looks amazing! We need to plan a joint cooking night. Dig?

  2. elizabeth says:

    I love that cookbook! The BBC version of Gordon Ramsay is far more palatable compared to the FOX version, and the recipes in Fast Food are really, really tasty.


Leave a Reply

